It is always better to think twice before getting behind the wheel when having a couple of drinks. Driving under the influence of alcohol could be a serious offense, especially in Florida where once convicted of a DUI, there is no chance of having it removed from your record! – Well, not for 75 years.
As the rules change from state to state, punishment for DUI in Florida also changes accordingly. There is no consistent punishment for driving while under the influence. However it’s important to note that Florida has some of the strictest DUI laws in the country.
The punishment for DUI in Florida depends on several factors such as the number of previous convictions, circumstances of the case, injury or harm to property due to your DUI charge and worst of all, if your drunk driving incident results in the injury or death of someone. Killing someone in Florida while driving drunk can land you in prison for a maximum of 15 years!
For a first time offense in Florida, the penalty is relatively less severe. The punishment will involve fines, maybe probation, community service, a suspended driver’s license, DUI school and possibly jail time. Whereas the amount of the fine is much smaller for a first offense in Florida, second-time conviction fines can be quite a bit more than other states.